Cookies / Dessert / Vegan Foods

Small-Batch Peanut Butter Crack Cookies

Alright, so I’ve been slacking a bit on the food blogging. This week has flown by, and my meals have been pretty lackluster throughout. However, this weekend has been full of some pretty yummy meals, courtesy of Hot Mama’s and La Creperie Voila downtown (I didn’t say they were healthy). Tonight I’m going to an open mic and told a friend I’d bring cookies because, you know, cookies just make any social gathering that much better. My cookie ingredient options are fairly limited, but I have plenty of peanut butter so I decided to go with a cookie classic and mix things up a bit. Not wanting to make a full batch of cookies for just the two of us, I found a single serving peanut butter cookie recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie and modified the recipe a bit to my liking. The result? Absolutely delicious cookies that have a unique flavor that sets them apart from typical peanut butter cookies. By using molasses, they have a nice, rich flavor, and the rice krispie cereal gives them a good crunch. These are quick to put together, and I’m sure I’ll be making them again in the future!

20130126_162814

Small-Batch Peanut Butter Crack Cookies (makes about 8 cookies)
1/4 cup flour
3 tbsp natural peanut butter*
1/8 tsp baking soda
small pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
3/4 tbsp white granulated sugar
3/4 tbsp brown sugar
1/5 tbsp molasses
about 2 tsp unsweetened applesauce
3 tbsp – 1/4 cup rice krispies

*you can also use better’n peanut butter if you want to save some calories, but for the best taste, I’d recommend doing half better’n p.b., half regular peanut butter.

Preheat oven to 350F. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, salt, and sugars. Add peanut butter, vanilla, molasses, and applesauce and mix well. Stir in rice krispies. On a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (or sprayed with non-stick spray), form dough into small balls and flatten them into cookie shapes using your hands or the back of a spoon. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool on a rack.

Leave a Reply

