Pasta & Rice Dishes / Small Plates

Quick & Easy Leftovers “Fried” Rice

Technically, this should not be called fried rice. It’s really more of a “rice with vegetables and protein”. But it has egg in it…well, egg whites, so I’m calling it fried rice. And it tasted good, like fried rice. So…yeah.

I had leftover brown rice from yesterday’s lunch, as well as the shrimp I’d made for dinner a few nights ago, so I decided to do something using those two ingredients as a base. For my veggies, I just shredded up some baby carrots I had in the fridge and used a few broccoli florets (also found in the refrigerator). Normally, fried rice involves adding soy sauce, but I decided to forgo it this time around, as my mom didn’t have the low-sodium kind (when I cook in my own kitchen, I prefer to use Bragg Liquid Aminos instead of normal soy sauce anyways). Instead, I used some rice vinegar to give a nice, sweet flavor to the vegetables, and I threw in some Sriracha for good measure.

The end result was a tasty, healthy lunch that was so good, I was tempted to make seconds. I just used what I had on hand, so the “recipe” is hardly something that was well-thought out, but it came together nicely regardless.

20121213_124525

Not-Quite-Fried Rice (serves 1)
1 cup brown rice (I used Trader Joe’s frozen organic brown rice)
2 oz. shrimp, sliced into small pieces (I used my leftover roasted shrimp, but you could use frozen or substitute with another protein like chicken or tofu)
3 tbsp liquid egg whites (or egg whites from one egg)
1/8 cup shredded carrots
1/4 cup fresh broccoli, cut into very small florets
about 1 tsp Sriracha sauce
about 1/2 tsp minced garlic
about 1 tbsp rice vinegar (if you don’t have rice vinegar, white vinegar works)
salt & pepper
water

1. In a small frying pan on medium heat, add broccoli and carrots. Add about 1 tbsp water and the rice vinegar and cook about 2 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add more water if needed. 2. Add the shrimp and garlic and continue cookie for a few more minutes until shrimp pieces start to slightly brown in spots. Season with salt and pepper (I used Jane’s Crazy Salt). Add the brown rice to the pan and turn heat down to low. (Note: Because I was using leftover shrimp that had already been roasted in oil, I didn’t add any oil, but if you are using frozen shrimp, you will need to add a bit of oil and seasoning)
3. In a separate pan, cook and scramble the egg whites, stirring often. Add seasoning. Once cooked, add to the pan with the rice, veggies, and shrimp. Stir it all together and add Sriracha, stir and keep on heat about a minute more. Serve immediately.

NUTRITION INFO (calculated on SparkPeople): approx. 275 calories, 1.7g fat, 110.5mg cholesterol, 433.9mg sodium, 249.6mg potassium, 41g carbs, 21.7g protein, 4.7g sugar

Leave a Reply

