Appetizers & Snacks / Party Planning

Almost “Original” Chex Mix

20121230_135223

Chex Mix is a party staple. It’s not the dish you look forward to, but it’s like an old, familiar friend from high school; the kind you wouldn’t mind not seeing, but if you do, it’s a welcome reunion. Sure, you can just go buy a bag of the pre-assembled stuff, but the homemade version (which is hardly homemade, really) is so easy to put together, and really does taste better. Plus, you can tell people you made it.

I made a batch of Chex Mix for Christmas, and my mom told me to take all the leftover cereal, nuts, pretzels, and bagel chips with me so I could make some for “that party you’re having on New Year’s”. I happily obliged.

For Christmas, I just stuck to the basic, tried-and-true recipe which you can find pretty much everywhere, including the Betty Crocker website. Note that this recipe uses a microwave. While the microwave was certainly fast, I don’t think everything was as evenly-coated as I would have liked, plus there were a few burnt chunks at the bottom of the probably too-small bowl.

So this time around, I decided to use the oven. I have more than enough time to sit around and stir cereal mix every 15 minutes for an hour, so I figured I might as well. I realize that most people probably do not want to devote an hour of their time to stirring Chex Mix; all I can say is, enjoy your burnt clumps of microwave Chex.

This stuff stores for a few days; to save prep time, I went ahead and made it today, the day before the party. Just be sure you let the mix dry properly before storing in an airtight container (I just used a ziploc).

For the New Year’s Eve Chex Mix, I improvised a bit on the seasoning. We don’t have garlic powder, or onion powder, but we have garlic salt and this onion herb seasoning, so I used that. I also threw in some Cajun seasoning, because why not. The recipe for the mix never seems to have enough seasoning, so I like to add a bit more.

putting my improv skills to good use.

putting my improv skills to good use.

I also left out the wheat Chex, for two reasons. One, to keep it gluten free, and two, because I don’t like the wheat Chex. I’m selfish, whatever. I also left out the pretzels because the pretzels my mom got weren’t really small enough for Chex Mix…oh well.

 Almost “Original” Chex Mix

4 1/2 cups corn chex cereal
4 1/2 cups rice chex cereal
about 1 cup mixed nuts (I used Trader Joe’s unsalted roasted mixed nuts)
about 1 cup garlic bagel chips, broken into bite-size pieces (I used New York Style Garlic Bagel Crisps)
6 tbsp butter
2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
About 3/4 tsp garlic salt
About 1/2 tsp onion & herb seasoning
About 1 tsp Cajun seasoning

1. Preheat oven to 250F. Melt butter in microwave-safe bowl for about 40 seconds. Stir in Worcestershire sauce and seasoning.

2. In a large baking dish (ungreased), pour cereal, nuts, and bagel chips. Mix well. Pour in the melted butter mixture and stir with a spoon until everything’s nicely coated.

20121230_135217

3. Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.

4. Spread on paper towels or a foil-lined baking sheet to cool at least 15 minutes. Store in airtight container.

 

4 thoughts on “Almost “Original” Chex Mix

    • I found the bagel chips at Fred Meyer (it’s a large chain store here, kind of like Walmart or Target)…I’ve noticed they can be kind of hard to find, especially the small ones. The bagel chips I bought were on the larger side, so I broke them (by hand) into smaller pieces. It doesn’t look quite as nice as the bagel chips that are already mini, but it still serves its purpose and tastes great!

      • I don’t think we have any Fred Meyer stores in the area, but we do have both Walmart and Target! Safeway is generally my go-to store, but we have a few pricier grocery stores in town with more specialty items. Maybe they’ll sell the rye and bagel chips. Thanks for the tip!

  1. I couldn’t find any at Safeway when I went, your best bet is *probably* one of the larger stores, although you might be able to find the rye chips easier at a smaller grocery store with specialty items. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

