Appetizers & Snacks / Party Planning / Vegetarian

Tastes Like Holiday Spirit.

I got to use my hand blender.

Oh my god, I’m in love.

It’s so nice. I don’t know how I survived without it before. You can make smoothies, you can make soups, you can make sauce….

And you can make cranberry salsa.

No, it's not roadkill guts, it's salsa!

No, it’s not roadkill guts, it’s salsa!

I decided to make the cranberry salsa for tomorrow evening now, because it’s one of those things that gets better as it sits and the flavors get a chance to combine (well, hopefully. That’s usually the case with salsa…). I’m saving the yogurt dips until tomorrow though, since Greek yogurt tends to get kinda liquidy as it sits.

Maybe cranberry salsa sounds weird to you, I dunno. To me, it sounded delicious, and perfectly festive. After researching about a dozen variations online, I decided to kind of wing it and see if I could make my own variation. So, I set out to find a bag of cranberries, some onion, jalapeno, and a lime.

Except I couldn’t find fresh (or frozen) cranberries anywhere. Seriously, I checked three grocery stores. It was ridiculous. So, in a last-ditch effort, I bought some cranberry sauce from Trader Joe’s. It looked chunkier than the stuff in the can, so I figured it was better than nothing.

I didn’t buy cilantro because I have a bunch of it in my freezer. That’s right, frozen. While frozen herbs might sound like an awful idea, I am one person, making meals for one person. I end up freezing a lot of stuff, and herbs will last if you freeze them. They won’t look pretty, but I was going to be adding this to a blended salsa, anyways.

As far as how much to add of what, I kind of just tasted as I went. And actually, the cranberry sauce worked REALLY WELL. It was kind of shocking. Because it was already sweet, I didn’t need to add sugar to the salsa at all. I also didn’t have to deal with adding liquid or using a food processor to chop up cranberries. Next time I make this, I’ll probably just go ahead and buy the sauce again!

20121230_162303

Life-saving sauce.

The salsa turned out delicious. Sweet, yet savory at the same time. Consistency wise, it’s smoother than a pico de gallo style salsa. It’s thick, though. I added cumin, which gave a really nice layer to everything. I like hot salsa, so my cranberry salsa does pack a *bit* of heat, but nothing the average person can’t handle.

I’m planning on serving the salsa with some corn tortilla chips, but it could be served with anything, really…. Pita chips, veggies…whatever.

This recipe makes enough for a small party. It looked like about 3 cups? Maybe 4 cups? I dunno, sorry.

Cranberry Salsa 

Pilgrim Joe’s Fresh Cranberry Sauce (1lb/16oz container)
1/2 red onion
1 jalapeno pepper, seeds removed
About 1/3 cup fresh cilantro (mine was frozen)
Pinch of salt
About 1 tsp cumin
Juice from 1 lime

1. Finely chop the onion, cilantro and jalapeno using a food processor, blender, or a knife. I used the chopping bowl attachment for my Cuisinart hand blender, it worked perfectly).

2. In a medium bowl (if using a hand blender) or a blender, add cranberry sauce, onion, pepper, and cilantro. Blend until it’s relatively smooth, but you can still see bits of onion, pepper, and cranberry. Add salt, cumin, and lime, and stir.

3. Serve immediately or store in the refrigerator before serving.

It may look like blood and guts, but it tastes like holiday spirit.

It may look like blood and guts, but it tastes like holiday spirit.

3 thoughts on “Tastes Like Holiday Spirit.

Leave a Reply

