Party Planning

New Year’s Eve Party Recap!

Well, it’s officially 2013 and I am full from diner-food breakfast, courtesy of Beth’s Cafe.
Thought I’d share some of the pictures I took last night pre-guests of the apartment setup. Nothing super over-the-top, but thanks to the Dollar Store and after-Christmas clearance at stores, I was able to put together some decorations and a buffet setup that helped make the night more festive.

Our apartment isn’t super big, so we had the food all on the kitchen island. For easy cleanup, I was sure to cover it with a cheap silver tablecloth I got at Walmart…it looked like a hurricane ran through our apartment this morning, but it only took a bit of time to clean everything up and get it looking back to normal!

IMG_2764

I used silver trays from the dollar store to serve the food on. I also labeled all the appetizers and dips, that way everyone knew what they were eating (and vegetarian guests wouldn’t accidentally grab something with meat in it).

IMG_2765

For decorations in the living room area, I just hung up some streamers, garland, and made a few paper snowflakes.

IMG_2767

I also tried to make this photo booth/wall thing, but it ended up falling down anyways šŸ˜›

IMG_2768

I found some gold ornaments on clearance at Walmart, so I hung those up with fishing wire and made a sort of chandelier.

IMG_2769

 

IMG_2770

On the coffee table, I put out a few things for snacking, including the Chex Mix, some pretzels, and chocolate covered fruit.

IMG_2772

We also did a small bar setup in the kitchen, where we had different fruit juices and a list of drink recipes.

IMG_2773

And as promised, here are some food pictures.

IMG_2774

IMG_2775

 

IMG_2776

IMG_2777

IMG_2778

Overall, it was a great evening with friends, and thanks to a lot of planning, it really wasn’t hard to put together. Everything was made beforehand, so I was able to heat up things instead of being in the kitchen the whole time. (Thankfully, there are no leftovers!)

Leave a Reply

