Sides & Salads / Small Plates / Vegetarian

(Sort of) Ejotes con Huevo

I’m running a bit low on groceries, which meant that today’s lunch required a bit of creativity.

I got a dozen eggs for free at QFC thanks to a coupon, and I still had about half leftover from using them for New Year’s, so I decided to go with eggs for my protein. I also have half a sweet onion in my fridge I need to use, so that went on the ingredients list as well. After a quick check in the freezer, where I keep too many frozen vegetables for my own good, I realized the ridiculous amount of frozen green beans I have left.

Now, green beans, onion, and egg probably sounds like an odd combination, but believe it or not, they actually go together to make a pretty rad dish called Ejotes con Huevo, or Green Bean Scramble for the white people reading this. When I’ve had this before, I’m pretty sure it had fresh tomato and a few other things in it (pepper?) as well, but it’s still essentially the same. It can be served as a side dish, or made into a more complete meal with black beans and tortillas on the side (I ate mine with some black beans).

By combining just a few ingredients I had on hand, I was able to whip up a light yet filling lunch in just a few minutes. I kept things light by using one egg and one egg white, instead of two whole eggs, and by steaming my green beans (instead of using oil to sauté them). I also refrained from adding salt to the dish; I didn’t feel it really needed it. I topped it off with some salsa verde I had in the fridge, which *kind of* is like putting chopped tomatoes in, I guess.

So, for those interested, here is my college student, kind of half-assed version of Ejotes con Huevo (that still tastes really good). I guess you could have this for breakfast, lunch, or dinner, but it’s more of a lunch thing in my mind.

20130108_130530

Ejotes con Huevo (serves 1)
3/4 c. (85g) frozen green beans (I used Trader Joe’s extra fine French)
1 large egg, whole
1 egg white
1 garlic clove, minced
about 2 tbsp chopped sweet onion
1/2 tsp Smart Balance light spread (or butter)
Splash of vegetable broth, if needed
Dash of cayenne
2 tbsp salsa verde (I used Trader Joe’s brand)

1. In a small pan, steam green beans, or cook following instructions on package. Once tender, remove and drain; set aside.
2. Using the same pan (now empty), melt the butter and sauté your onion and garlic on medium heat for about 3 minutes, stirring often. Add vegetable broth if needed to prevent burning.
3. Add green beans to the pan and cook about a minute. Crack in both the whole egg and egg white and continue stirring until eggs are cooked through. Add salt and pepper if desired; I added a dash of onion-herb seasoning (salt free).
4. Remove from pan and pour onto plate or in a bowl; top with cayenne and salsa. Serve with black beans and tortillas.

 

Leave a Reply

