Breakfast / Sides & Salads / Small Plates / Vegan Foods / Vegetarian

This week is going by way too slowly.

When I was a kid, I hated grapefruit. Well actually, I hated most fruit. I went through a brief phase of liking grapefruit juice (the super sugary kind, albeit) but it only lasted a few months. It wasn’t until far more recently that I discovered that grapefruit really isn’t that bad. At first, I’d try it in salads or mixed in with other fruits; eventually, I built my way up to going for the gold and being one of “those” people that has half a grapefruit with their breakfast. I am by no means a grapefruit expert– I suck at getting the fruit out, I don’t own a grapefruit knife or the proper utensils at all, really. But every so often, it’s a nice, healthy breakfast or snack option.

Usually, I just sprinkle a bit of sugar or Truvia on my grapefruit and eat it plain and cold, but I’ve also experimented with grilling it on my George Foreman for a few minutes, which ended up being pretty yummy. This morning, I went with broiling it in the oven with a bit of cinnamon and Truvia sprinkled on top. Broiling it is probably my favorite technique yet; not only was it easier to remove the fruit pieces, but the grapefruit really absorbed the sugar and cinnamon flavors nicely.  I accompanied it with some cinnamon Greek yogurt and some chopped walnuts.

d77b2e245a9411e2877122000a1fbc4f_7

To broil grapefruit, simply slice it in half, sprinkle with sugar, cinnamon, honey, or whatever you want to sweeten it with, and stick it on a baking sheet in the oven for about 6-8 minutes. For easier fruit extraction, gently run a knife along the flesh of the fruit cells before sticking it in the oven. As mentioned, I ate mine with some yogurt (that I added a pinch of cinnamon to) and a few chopped walnuts to give it a nice crunch).

I also put together part of my dinner this morning. Now that classes have started up again, I’m already overwhelmed (probably too much for my own good). I already have plenty of reading to do, and less free time than I’d like…then again, I still have more than enough time to waste a good chunk of it on the internet, so I guess it’s all relative. On Mondays and Wednesdays, I don’t get out of class until dinner time, so making something earlier in the day, or at least doing some prep, is really helpful. Plus it means I get to eat sooner, instead of waiting another hour or so for things to finish cooking.

For dinner tonight, I wanted to use up the shredded carrots I have in the fridge, so I put together a carrot side salad for my meal. There are a ton of different ways to make a good carrot salad (I love this recipe that includes beets and Moroccan flavors), but I kept things simple with a basic vinaigrette using ingredients I have on hand. I also threw in some edamame and dried cranberries to add color and a bit more nutritional value.

By making the salad earlier in the day and keeping it in the fridge, the flavors were allowed to really get absorbed by the time I sat down to eat. This was super simple to put together, and I really enjoyed the combination of the sweet cranberries with the tartness of the dressing.  (Plus, it looked pretty!) It was definitely more exciting than the rest of my dinner…

20130109_174228

Carrot Cranberry Salad with Edamame (serves 1)
3/4 cup shredded carrots (you can buy bags of pre-shredded carrots to save time)
1/3 cup edamame (I used Trader Joe’s frozen shelled edamame, which I just defrosted)
15g dried cranberries (I recommend Trader Joe’s Organic variety)
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
about 1 tsp freshly grated ginger
1 tsp dijon mustard
1 tbsp fresh squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
dash of pepper

Whisk together vinegar, ginger, mustard, lemon juice, olive oil, and pepper until well combined. Pour over carrots and edamame, mix well. Top with cranberries and refrigerate at least an hour before serving (I’d recommend 2-3 hours to really let the flavors get absorbed).

NUTRITIONAL INFO: 190 calories; 5g fat; 10g protein; 16g sugar; 188mg sodium; 27g carbs

Leave a Reply

