Pasta & Rice Dishes / Vegetarian

Creamy [70 calorie!] Fig Butter Sauce

I love Trader Joe’s fig butter. It’s awesome by itself on toast, mixed into oatmeal, spread on a sandwich with gruyere, arugula, and prosciutto, or even mixed into a glaze for poultry. It also makes a fantastic addition to a creamy pasta sauce. Adding a small amount to a creamy/cheese sauce adds a nice, subtly sweet flavor that works nicely when you add the right ingredients.

In the past, I’ve made a creamy fig butter sauce that was far from being guilt-free, with the addition of cream, full-fat cheese, and some good old fashioned butter. But since this week has been about me trying to get back on track from the holidays, I made a lighter sauce for my dinner tonight.

I combined a bit of fig butter with a light Laughing Cow cheese wedge (only 35 calories), a bit of light soy milk, and some garlic and seasoning. It took only a few minutes and tasted just as good as when I’ve made the non-skinny version (I promise!).

I mixed my sauce in with some tofu shirataki noodles because I had a package already opened, but I’d recommend sticking with whole wheat spaghetti if you don’t mind the added calories and carbs. I also added some frozen mushrooms and green beans. I used the same pan for everything, and the whole meal took under 15 minutes.

20130110_184915

My favorite way to use this sauce would be to add whole wheat pasta and rotisserie chicken, along with some mushrooms. Unfortunately, I don’t have any chicken on hand, so I had to do without this time. Even so, the sauce was delicious and it was hard not to make seconds!

This sauce is really versatile; besides being used with pasta, you could pour it on top of a chicken breast, or stir into green beans for a creamy side dish. Thanks to using the light cheese and soy milk (and holding off on cream and butter), my sauce was under 70 calories!

Light & Creamy Fig Butter Sauce (serves 1)
Laughing Cow Light Creamy Swiss Wedge
1 – 2 tbsp Silk Light Original soy milk
1/2 tbsp Trader Joe’s fig butter
1/2 garlic clove, minced
splash of low-sodium broth
salt and pepper, to taste

In a pan on medium heat, saute garlic in broth. Turn down heat to medium-low and add cheese wedge, 1 tbsp soy milk, and fig butter and stir until cheese is melted and ingredients are combined. Add more soy milk if needed. Add salt & pepper to taste. Once cheese is melted and mixed in, add pasta and additional ingredients and toss about a minute before serving.

Serving suggestions: Pour on top of cooked chicken, or mix into a pasta dish with whole wheat spaghetti, rotisserie chicken, and mushrooms. 

Leave a Reply

