Breakfast / Small Plates

Culinary Regrets: Terrible Combos & Forgotten Ingredients

I wanted to start out this post by sharing with you one of the worst things I have ever made.

20130112_093157

Yeah, that. It tasted just as good as it looks, believe me. That, my dear readers, is scrambled egg whites mixed with peanut butter and cinnamon.

Let me explain. I woke up Saturday morning having not quite figured out what I wanted to make myself for breakfast yet. Something savory, or something sweet? I didn’t want cereal, but scrambled eggs with vegetables didn’t sound quite right, either. So, I went on the internet in search of some inspiration. Among my research, I found something that intrigued me: an egg white omelet with peanut butter. I should have known it would be awful just because it was posted on some body builders website, but the more I thought about it, the more I thought it might be surprisingly good. I had egg whites, and I like peanut butter, so why not just combine the two for a protein-packed, possibly delicious breakfast? So I scrambled up some liquid egg whites and poured in a bit of peanut butter and cinnamon and prepared to enjoy my unusual concoction.

It was disgusting. Of course. I like some pretty weird food combinations, but this one isn’t for me. Needless to say, I whipped up some pancakes about five minutes later, and even though they were slightly burnt and not even close to the best I’ve made, they were still miles better than scrambled peanut butter egg whites.

On a better note, my awful Saturday breakfast was made up for on Sunday morning. My friend and I have recently started a sort of tradition of grabbing breakfast on Sundays. It’s a chance to get good food and catch up on some interesting weekend stories (of which there always seem to be a few too many). This weekend, we tried breakfast at Cafe Pettirosso in Capitol Hill. My extra-large latte, granola yogurt parfait, and spinach quiche were infinitely better than the previous morning’s culinary mishaps.

In going with the theme of “interesting” food combinations, my lunch today was a far more successful combination of sausage and brussel sprouts. I actually hate sausage, to be honest; the casing kind of weirds me out, I dunno. But I love brussel sprouts (clearly I’ve got things mixed up), and I saw a few recipes online that were pasta dishes with roasted brussel sprouts and sausage, so I stocked up on both to give it a try.

20130114_123007

I picked up chicken sausage instead of pork sausage, mainly because I like the taste a bit better (plus it tends to be healthier). I already had some frozen petite brussel sprouts in my freezer, but I really should get some fresh ones, seeing as how they’re in season.

While I still intend to try roasting the two and putting together a pasta dish, I was a bit lazy with lunch today and wanted something that would take a bit less time. So, I put a saucepan on medium-high heat and added defrosted and halved brussel sprouts, a clove of chopped garlic, a sausage link I sliced up, and some vegetable broth.

20130114_123011

You probably noticed how poorly I cut up that garlic. Fun fact: I sliced open the tip of my thumb this weekend while cutting peppers, so thanks to a rather large makeshift bandage thing I’ve got on my thumb, I’m temporarily semi-handicapped and suck at finely chopping things.

Anyways, I let the ingredients cook in the broth for a few minutes, and once the broth had evaporated, I let everything cook and brown a bit longer. Super, super simple, and it tasted really good.

20130114_123615

I’m still not a sausage enthusiast, but it worked well with the brussel sprouts, and I will be making this again; next time I’ll try roasting and see how that goes.

20130114_114353

Of course it was only after I finished eating that I remembered the spaetzle I have in my pantry. Spaetzle would have been the perfect addition to this meal, and now I can’t stop thinking about how a good meal would have been freakin’ delicious, because spaetzle makes anything delicious. For those of you unfamiliar, spaetzle are delicious eggy German noodles, often served as a side to meals (my personal favorite is schnitzel and spaetzle with some pickled cabbage on the side). I can almost taste the buttery noodles mixed in with the sausage and sprouts…damnit. I got this spaetzle at Cost Plus World Market, because I’m too lazy to make it from scratch. I’ve yet to open and try it, but it looks promising. Thank goodness I still have 5 more sausage links…

Speaking of culinary regrets, I went to Hot Mama’s this weekend…twice, actually, and failed to get a slice of pesto. Oh well, at least they had Hawaiian.

One thought on “Culinary Regrets: Terrible Combos & Forgotten Ingredients

Leave a Reply

