Cookies / Dessert / Vegan Foods

Vegan 20 Minute Oatmeal Rice Krispie Cookies

So I made some cookies. There was no real reason behind it, other than I needed something to do (other than homework) and I figured I could give them to people so they like me. No, really. It’s a proven fact that people like you more if you give them baked goods (unless, of course, they’re on a diet). If I ever need to get a boyfriend, I’m just gonna make them my apple nut bread. Or chilaquiles. It’s gonna work, too.

Anyways, I have applesauce in the fridge and a ton of oatmeal, so I decided to go with something in that route. I also have two boxes of Rice Krispies from when I made treats earlier in the year, so I decided to do something with that thrown in as well.

After a quick internet search, I found this recipe for vegan rice krispie oatmeal cookies. The blog appears to be written by someone in another country, and the recipe required some modification on my part, but the cookies were easy to put together and were done in under 20 minutes total– my kind of recipe!

I did half the batch plain, and added dried cranberries to the other half (in that half, I reduced the amount of powdered sugar a bit). Both cookies were pretty yummy– my roommate and I couldn’t decide which we liked better.

While the cookies aren’t exactly healthy, they are better than your typical cookie with lots of butter and sugar. They’re also on the smaller side. Because there are no eggs, butter, or dairy products, they’re totally vegan as well.

5dca198c61d811e29a5822000a9f15d4_7

20 Minute Oatmeal Rice Krispie Cookies (makes about 20 cookies)
adapted from this recipe
1 cup flour (I used Trader Joe’s White Whole Wheat Flour, all-purpose would work as well)
1/2 cup rolled oats (not the instant kind)
1/2 cup Rice Krispie cereal
4 tbsp unsweetened applesauce
3 tbsp canola oil
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon (use 1 tsp if you aren’t a cinnamon addict like me)
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
optional: 3 tbsp dried cranberries or mini chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 425F. In a large bowl, combine applesauce, oil, powdered sugar, and cinnamon. Mix well with a spoon until well combined.

2. Add flour, oats, cereal, baking soda, vanilla, and cranberries (if you’re including them) and mix, using your hands if needed. If the dough seems too dry, add a bit more applesauce.

3. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Use your hands to make balls out of the dough and flatten them on the baking sheet. Bake for about 12-15 minutes. (Mine only took 12 minutes to bake, but oven times will vary)

4. Let cookies cool on a wire rack before enjoying.

Note: You could use entirely applesauce instead of applesauce and oil, but the oil helps give the cookies a crispier texture. Also, while you can use granulated sugar, powdered sugar will work much better.

9fd19e2461db11e2a9de22000a1f92c9_7

UPDATE: I made these again, and this time I used a bit more applesauce. The dough was stickier, so I rolled it into balls with my hands quickly, then pressed the cookies down pretty thin on the sheet using my fingers. I also used maple syrup extract (the imitation stuff, sorry purists) instead of vanilla and it made these even better! Either way is good, but the stickier dough ended up more crispy, and it had a richer flavor thanks to the maple.

Leave a Reply

