Pasta & Rice Dishes / Weeknight Dinner

Simple Spaghetti Squash

After eating out for pretty much every meal the past 48 hours, I figured I’d cook something at home for dinner tonight. I had one sausage link left in the fridge and a bunch of spinach, so I grabbed some more stuff that sounded like it would go well with those two. Instead of doing a pasta dish, I lightened things up a bit by using the spaghetti squash I bought a few weeks ago. I don’t make spaghetti squash often; I’m kind of particular about what I think pairs nicely with it. Luckily, sausage and spinach work awesomely with spaghetti squash, and I was able to put together something delicious in under 20 minutes.

Plus, now I have a ton of spaghetti squash, which means lots of pasta dishes this upcoming week…

IMG_2853

Sausage & Spinach Spaghetti Squash (serves 1)
1 sun-dried tomato & provolone chicken sausage link
about 2 cups baby spinach
about 1/8 cup diced onion (I used sweet onion)
1 clove garlic, finely diced
about 1/2 roma tomato, seeded and diced
olive oil
vegetable broth
dash of Italian seasoning, if needed
1/2 cup spaghetti squash, cooked

1. Roast spaghetti squash or cook it in the microwave. (I cut mine in half and roasted it in the oven at 375F for 45 minutes.)

IMG_2848

2. Remove sausage from casing if it isn’t already cooked using a knife and crumble into pieces (my sausage was pre-cooked, so I just cut it into small pieces). In a pan on medium heat, add a small amount of olive oil and the garlic and onion. Cook, stirring often, about 2-3 minutes or until onions soften; add vegetable broth if liquid is needed.

IMG_2850

3. Add sausage to the pan and let cook about 2-3 minutes or until sausage starts to slightly brown. Reduce heat and add spinach, tomato, and a splash of vegetable broth. Stir and let simmer until spinach softens.

IMG_2851

4. Add cooked spaghetti squash to the pan and mix together. Sprinkle with parmesan and serve immediately.

IMG_2852

2 thoughts on “Simple Spaghetti Squash

Leave a Reply

