Dining Out

Weekend Morning Breakfast: Coastal Kitchen

So one of my friends and I have sort of started a tradition of grabbing weekend breakfasts at various places around Capitol Hill. So far, we’ve gone to Skillet a few times, Cafe Pettirosso, Oddfellows…our options tend to be somewhat limited because apparently, people in Capitol Hill don’t eat breakfast until 10 or 11, and we usually go around 9.

Today we trekked all the way down 15th ave. to Coastal Kitchen. I’m a bit ashamed to admit that this was my first visit, although after having tried it I will definitely be going back. Yes, it was a long walk, but well worth it.

Both of us ordered the Rainbow Rumble, which was essentially scrambled eggs with tomato, corn, green onion, mushrooms, garlic, asiago cheese, and a side of “spicy” hashbrowns. The scramble was really yummy; I’m not a big hashbrown person, so I’m probably not the best person to judge theirs, but I thought they were good, albeit not spicy enough for my taste. We also subbed toast for their coffee cake, which was absolutely delicious. It wasn’t like most coffee cakes you see, with a crumbled strudel topping and crumbly texture; theirs is more dense and had a mild banana flavor. I’ve heard the gingerbread waffle at Coastal Kitchen is heavenly, so next time I’ll have to give that a try.

So far, this was one of my favorite breakfast spots we’ve tried!

Leave a Reply

