Breakfast / Muffins & Cupcakes

Saturday Morning Blackberry Muffins

It’s been a while since I’ve been up and functioning before 11 on a Saturday morning. I used to be a productive person on weekends, but these last few weekends, I haven’t exactly been a morning person.

IMG_2894

In honor of the occasion, I decided to make something good for breakfast. After scanning the recipes on Williams-Sonoma’s website (because I do things like that), I found a recipe for blackberry brown sugar quick bread that sounded awesome. It used frozen blackberries, which I happen to have in my freezer already, and all the other ingredients were things I also already had. I didn’t really want to make a whole loaf of bread though, so I decided I’d make muffins (because I’m obsessed with muffins right now, remember?) and give some to friends (because I buy my friendships with baked goods). Sure, I could have just had pancakes, or cereal, or eggs, or any other normal breakfast food, but I couldn’t resist the sweet temptation of Williams-Sonoma elegance.

Original Williams-Sonoma Recipe

Since I was making muffins, I was able to cut the recipe in half (I didn’t need a full dozen muffins) and make 6 regular sized muffins.

I did make some substitutions to the recipe, based on what I had on hand or what sounded better to me. I also added a bit more than half a cup of frozen blackberries because I wanted to make sure each muffin had enough berries.

SUBSTITUTIONS:
– white whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour
– I didn’t have light brown sugar, so I did 1/2 cup of a brown sugar/granulated sugar mix
– I didn’t have regular milk, so I had to use Silk Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
– 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce & canola oil instead of 1/4 cup melted butter (I did about 3/4 of it applesauce, and the rest oil)
– I kept the 1 tsp vanilla extract and didn’t cut it in half
– added a pinch of cinnamon, of course
– I sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on top of each muffin

Because I was making muffins instead of a loaf, I checked for doneness at 15 (nope), then 20 (not quite), and then 25 minutes (finally!).

These were so delicious, I could barely wait to let one cool before trying it. The blackberries were juicy, the brown sugar on top added a nice sweetness…Definitely an awesome way to start a Saturday morning! I’ll have to try making this into an actual loaf eventually (although it worked perfectly for muffins).

IMG_2897

Here’s my version of the recipe, halved and modified.

Blackberry Brown Sugar Muffins (makes 6)
adapted from Williams-Sonoma
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar, plus about 1.5 tbsp for sprinkling
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/2 to 3/4 frozen blackberries (do not thaw!)
1/4 cup + 2 tbsp milk (soy, almond, regular, whatever)
1 egg
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce and canola oil (about 3/4 applesauce, the rest oil)
1 tsp vanilla extract (only need 1/2 tsp if using regular milk)

Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly grease a muffin tin, or line with paper liners.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Add blackberries and stir until evenly distributed.

IMG_2883

In a separate bowl, whisk together the milk, egg, applesauce/oil mix, and vanilla. Add the liquid mixture to the flour mixture and stir until just combined. Do not overmix!

IMG_2887

Pour the batter into the muffin tins using a spoon. Sprinkle each muffin with a small amount of brown sugar, and bake for 20-30 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_2889

Remove muffins from oven and let sit in tin for about a minute, then remove muffins from the tin and let cool completely on a wire rack.

IMG_2892

Enjoy muffins warm, or freeze them for later enjoyment (be sure to wrap them in plastic wrap so they don’t get soggy!).

NUTRITION INFO (per serving, if yield is 6 muffins): approx. 194 calories; 37g carbs; 4g fat; 4g protein; 19g sugar; 122mg sodium 

Leave a Reply

