Beverages / Breakfast

Easy & Delicious Banana Coffee Smoothie

This morning I wasn’t feeling particularly hungry, so I decided I’d stick with a light breakfast of a smoothie. I had half a banana left from yesterday in the fridge, so I threw that in my blender, along with some Greek yogurt for protein, some almond milk, ice, better’n peanut butter, a bit of cinnamon and truvia, and some espresso powder. The end result was an easy, healthy smoothie that was totally delicious and even desert-worthy. Seriously, I would totally make this as dessert if I was craving a milkshake. I really liked the espresso powder thrown in there, and the peanut butter was there, but not overpowering like it can be in smoothies.

Image

Since I went to the gym this morning, I wanted to make sure I got enough to eat, so I also had a frozen waffle with some fruit on top. I’ve recently been craving waffles like crazy for some reason. It wasn’t until that craving kicked in that I realized how hard it is to get a waffle in Seattle…seriously. Everywhere that has waffles, it’s either with fried chicken, or they’re the thick Belgian kind (or both, most often). I like my waffles thinner and slightly crispy, and while chicken and waffles is good, there is a time and a place, and I just wanted a basic waffle, sans fried meat. So, I caved in and bought some frozen waffles. Normally, I really don’t like frozen waffles; I’ve never been an Eggo fan (and I’m still not). But when I went to QFC, I saw they had a brand called Van’s that claimed to be all-natural and sounded a bit more promising.

They had a few varieties, but I ended up going with the “lite” waffles, which are 97% fat free and only 70 calories each. They were about a dollar more than Eggo (both were on sale), but they were definitely worth it. I’m far more satisfied with the flavor and texture of these, and I’d certainly buy them again if I ever get another craving for waffles!

Anyways, here’s the recipe for my smoothie; like I said, it’s great for dessert, a snack, or a light meal. You could even add in some protein powder if you want it to be more substantial.

Banana Coffee Smoothie (serves 1)
1/2 ripe banana (you can freeze yours ahead of time, but it isn’t necessary)
1/3 cup nonfat plain Greek yogurt
a bit more than 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
1 tsp instant espresso powder (I recommend Cafe Bustelo)
1/2 tbsp Better’n Peanut Butter
pinch of cinnamon
1 Truvia packet
ice

Blend ingredients using a hand blender or a regular blender; add ice as needed until desired consistency is reached.

NUTRITION INFO: approx. 130 calories; 16g carbs; 3g fat; 10g protein; 9g sugar; 184mg sodium

2 thoughts on “Easy & Delicious Banana Coffee Smoothie

  1. it is SO hard to find a good waffle in Seattle. I was at Skillet the other day waiting for 3 thousand hours and saw this woman scarfing a waffle– cue in the voracious waffle cravings that set in as I continued waiting, only to find out that it’s exactly as you said, with fried chicken……..though, there is Sweet Iron downtown– http://sweetironwaffles.com/

    not as accessible as places like Skillet but they have amazing and cheap waffles, both sweet and savory!

    • It is truly devastating. Sweet Iron is good but I just want a basic, classic waffle sometimes, not one of those fancy mini waffles (haha). I guess I have to drive to Pancake House or somewhere else outside of Seattle, where they appreciate the art of the waffle. 😥

Leave a Reply

