Dining Out / Pasta & Rice Dishes / Small Plates

Red Curry Pineapple Fried Rice (and a kinda disappointing taco salad)

For lunch today, I decided to experiment with some leftovers. I had rice in the fridge from yesterday’s red curry dish, and I also had a bunch of red curry paste left over from the can. So, I went for a fried rice type of dish, but thought I’d try using red curry paste instead of the usual soy sauce.

It actually worked pretty well and tasted awesome! The sweetness of the pineapple paired nicely with the slight spice of the red curry. I’ve had curry fried rice before, but that’s usually a yellow curry; nevertheless, the red curry worked nicely and I’m definitely going to make this again sometime. I kept things simple and stuck to just rice, curry, pineapple, onion, garlic, egg whites (for protein), and fish oil. However, it’s always easy to add to a rice dish; next time I’ll probably mix in some chopped bell pepper and frozen peas.

To help keep things healthier, I didn’t actually fry the rice. I didn’t use any oil, actually, since I cooked the onion and garlic in broth instead. Even so, it still tasted great. Luckily, red curry paste keeps for ages if stored in a properly sealed container in the fridge, so I’ll be able to find even more uses for it aside from the obvious coconut milk/red curry paste combo.

Image

Red Curry Pineapple “Fried” Rice (serves 1)
1/2 cup cooked brown rice (I used Trader Joe’s brown basmati rice, cooked in chicken broth)
1/4 to 1/3 cup Trader Joe’s frozen pineapple tidbits
4 tbsp liquid egg whites
1 garlic clove, minced
about 3-4 tbsp diced sweet onion
chicken or vegetable broth
fish sauce
red curry paste (I used about 1/2 tbsp)
salt & pepper

In a pan on medium-high heat, add broth and onion and garlic. Cook 2-3 minutes until onions start to soften. Add frozen pineapple and cook another 2 minutes until pineapple is thawed. Add egg whites and salt and pepper; continue stirring to scramble egg whites. Once egg is cooked, add rice to the pan, along with the red curry paste. Add fish sauce to taste (I used less than 1/2 tsp). Stir and cook until rice is warm.

I like the simplicity of this, but for a more colorful/complete dish, feel free to add more veggies like red bell pepper or broccoli. You can also add shrimp for more protein.

NUTRITION INFO: approx. 244 calories; 49g carbs; 0g fat; 11g protein; 10g sugar; 689mg sodium

Oh yeah, I also had a second lunch today…yeah. A friend asked if I wanted to grab food around 2, and I said I’d join her. We went to Marination Station; usually I get the kimchi fried rice there, but today I tried the taco salad with tofu (I figured it would be light).

Image

Honestly, it was good but not great. And definitely not worth the price; I’m surprised it’s one of the pricier items on the menu. It was basically just their cabbage slaw with meat (or tofu, in my case) on top, with their “nunya” sauce (almost like a spicy mayo) “drizzled” on top (it was a lot of sauce, so I wouldn’t necessarily use drizzled to describe it). I wouldn’t order it again; but then again, I’m not sure why you’d order that in the first place over anything else. I’d recommend the kimchi fried rice, kimchi quesadilla, or any of the tacos over the taco salad any day.

Leave a Reply

