Dining Out

Sunday Brunch in Seabeck

This weekend I visited family in Bremerton, and my mom and I stopped for brunch this morning at Barbie’s Cafe before heading home. Unless you’re from the Bremerton area, I’m guessing you’ve never heard of Seabeck or Barbie’s Cafe. It’s understandable; Seabeck is a pretty tiny place, and Barbie’s is tucked in the back of a corner store, but what it lacks in size it makes up for in some pretty great food.

While Barbie’s serves breakfast, lunch, and early dinner (they close at 6), I’ve only been for breakfast. I’ve heard they serve a good burger, though, and their chili’s award-winning. And if you like pie, they’ve got homemade fresh pies and cakes in the display case that always look awesome.

I’ve tried a few different things on the breakfast menu, including their oatmeal, breakfast sandwich (egg, cheese, and meat on texas toast), and french toast. They’ve got all the basics, from pancakes and french toast to omelets and eggs benedict. This morning, I decided to try the schooner omelet: black olives, mushrooms, tomatoes, green peppers, onions, and cheese. For $10, you get a pretty hearty portion that comes with a side of toast and hash browns (every time we go here, my mom reminds me how good the hash browns here are, so if I don’t mention THEIR HASH BROWNS ARE REALLY GOOD, I’m sure she would be upset). Instead of hash browns and toast though, I subbed a biscuit and asked to get a half order for the omelet.

The biscuits at Barbie’s are only available on the weekend and come plain or with homemade sausage gravy. I’ve never had one before, but I always appreciate a good biscuit, so I figured I should take advantage of the opportunity. And yeah, it was good. It was huge, too–I definitely could have gotten the half biscuit and still had plenty. I ate mine with a bit of honey and jam…so tasty. If you’re looking for a traditional Southern flaky biscuit that’s slightly crispy on the outside, this isn’t it though. Barbie’s biscuits are square and almost like a sort of coffee cake or cornbread, consistency-wise.

Image

If you ever find yourself in the area, Barbie’s is worth making a stop for. They serve breakfast until 12, though, so if you’re used to Capitol Hill brunch where places don’t even open until 10 or 11, be prepared to wake up a lot earlier. Everything is affordably priced and just what you’d look for from a small breakfast joint full of local regulars. If you get a table by the window, you also get a great view of the water.

Leave a Reply

