Cookies / Dessert

Springtime Lemon Blackberry Cookies with…Bisquick?

20130325_12045120130325_120707

Well, it’s sunny outside and I guess it’s finally time to admit to myself that spring has sprung in Seattle.

Don’t think that means I’m not still going to be wearing all black most of the time…

In honor of the season, I whipped up a batch of quick-and-easy cookies (and no, I didn’t make a whole batch of cookies just for myself…although I did try one, of course). When I think of spring, I tend to think of light and refreshing flavors like lemon. I happened to have a lemon in my fridge, so I set out to make a simple sugar cookie with an added lemon-y twist.

I’ve never really tried Bisquick cookies before, but I’ve seen plenty of recipes online. I (stupidly) bought a huge container of Bisquick at Costco at the beginning of this year, so I’ve been trying to find ways to use it up. Most of the recipes I found were for chocolate chip cookies, but there’s a recipe for sugar cookies on the Bettie Crocker website that I decided to modify.

To add some color, I wanted to make a naturally-colored frosting (I don’t have any food coloring here in my apartment, all of my baking materials for the most part are still in California). I had some frozen blackberries in the freezer, so I went with those (blackberry and lemon is always a great combination in my book, and they have an awesome color to them).

I know, it sounds weird (and kinda like cheating) to use Bisquick in a cookie. But these came out so nicely, I’d absolutely make them again. The outside is just firm enough, and the inside is soft and cake-like– perfect for a frosted sugar cookie! They also weren’t overwhelmingly sweet, so the sweetness of the blackberry frosting didn’t end up being overpowering. You can’t even tell I used Bisquick in them, I swear.

These took me probably an hour total from start to finish (including the time it took to frost them). They’re a great addition to a spring picnic, tea, or just as a dessert to any meal!

Bisquick Lemon Sugar Cookies (makes approx. 1 dozen)
2 cups original Bisquick mix
3/4 cup powdered sugar, sifted
1/2 cup softened butter
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 egg
zest of one large lemon
fresh lemon juice (about 1/2 lemon)

1. Preheat oven to 400F. Mix all the ingredients using a hand mixer until dough forms. It should be soft, but not too sticky to roll into balls (if it is, stick it in the fridge for about 20 minutes).
2. Shape dough into balls and place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Make sure they aren’t too close together, as they will expand slightly when baking. Flatten each ball slightly using your fingers or the bottom of a glass.
3. Bake for 5-8 minutes (I made my cookies rather big and they were done in 8 minutes). Remove from the oven and let cool on a wire rack.
4. Once completely cool, frost the cookies with the blackberry frosting. Store in the refrigerator in an airtight container.

20130325_114853

Blackberry Frosting*
Frozen (thawed) or fresh blackberries
Softened butter
Powdered sugar, sifted

1. Blend the blackberries using an immersion blender for best results. If you don’t want seeds in your frosting, drain the berries after this step (I didn’t bother draining mine, but if I were frosting a cake or something larger I’d probably remove seeds for appearance).
2. In a bowl, add blackberries and butter. Blend until well combined (using a hand mixer). Then, add powdered sugar a bit at a time until the desired consistency is reached.

*I didn’t include amounts because I didn’t measure when I made mine (I was only making a bit, for 6 cookies). I used about 1/4 cup frozen blackberries with 2 tbsp butter and I’d say about a cup and a half of powdered sugar. This is really one of those things you have to eyeball and taste as you go, though. I know, I know…baking is a science that requires EXACT MEASUREMENTS…sorry.

20130325_120416

Leave a Reply

