Pasta & Rice Dishes / Sides & Salads / Small Plates / Weeknight Dinner

I’m Back!

Hey guys, remember me?

I apologize for the lack of posts/online presence as of late, I swear I’m working on it! We’ve just started spring quarter and I’m trying to balance getting back into the swing of things with school while still maintaining some semblance of a social life. As a strategic communications minor, I also have a class that requires me to blog for it (about far more boring/less tasty things) so I haven’t been quite as motivated to blog about things I enjoy on my own time.

But here I am, with a pretty tasty meal to share with you!

Butternut Squash and Kale Spaetzle.

So, what is spaetzle, you ask? Well, as one of my friends (tactfully) told me one time, “it looks like worms. Or maggots”. Basically, spaetzle is a type of egg noddle, common in German and Bavarian cooking. There are a few different variations of spaetzle, and multiple ways to make it. I grew up loving authentic German food, and spaetzle has always been a favorite of mine.

I ordered some spaetzle from Cost Plus World Market a few months ago, and I’ve been trying to think of ways to use it. Typically, spaetzle just needs a bit of parsley, butter, and lemon. It’s simple and tasty, and makes a great side dish for chicken or pork. But I wanted to make more of an entree with spaetzle by adding more things into the mix.

So, I picked up some pre-cut butternut squash from Trader Joe’s today and decided I’d try adding that to the spaetzle. I also thought it would be a good idea to throw in some leafy greens, so I used some frozen kale (also from Trader Joe’s).

Essentially, I just cooked the spaetzle according to package instructions, then tossed it with sauteed squash, kale, garlic, and a bit of butter. I also added a pinch of asiago, but it really wasn’t necessary.

The result was a hearty, delicious meal that was a nice twist on an old favorite. The textures and flavors all worked great together, and it made for a pretty dinner.

20130411_184630

The best part of this? It only took 5 ingredients and 15 minutes!

Butternut Squash and Kale Spaetzle (serves 2 as a side, 1 as an entree)
5 oz packaged spaetzle, prepared according to package instructions
1 cup diced butternut squash
3/4 cup frozen kale
2 cloves garlic
butter spray
optional: shredded parmesan or asiago

1. Prepare spaetzle; once cooked, drain.
2. Meanwhile, cook butternut squash. (I microwaved mine in a covered bowl for 4 minutes, until soft).
3. In a pan on medium-high heat, sautee garlic for about 2 minutes. Add frozen kale and about 1 tbsp water; cover and let cook 3-4 minutes or until water evaporates.
4. Add squash to the pan and a small amount of oil (I used nonstick cooking spray). Toss, uncovered, for 2-3 minutes until everything is cooked.
5. Add spaetzle to the pan and butter spray; toss until well mixed.

Serve as an entree, or as a side to your meal.

20130411_184618

Oh, and I finally made my way to Pike Street Fish Fry and tried their hush puppies! They’ve been on the menu since Mardi Gras, but it took me this long to actually go there and see if they compare to the ones down South. I’m a bit of a hush puppy purist– I like mine pretty plain, dipped in honey, without all those fillings some places add. Luckily, the Fish Fry kind were exactly how I like them, and they were pretty tasty. A bit too crispy, but they definitely hit the spot.

20130402_173951

Leave a Reply

